Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Herps (reptiles and amphibians)

Default Herps (reptiles and amphibians)

Just curious who out there is into herpetology or the hobby of herping. What do you do to put yourself around herps? Favorite herps? Reason you like herps?

I'm an currently an intern at a zoo in the reptile department, which puts me around all types of herps on a regular basis. I also own my own snake at the moment, and have cared for my father's snakes and lizards too.

I hope to possibly get a volunteer position either at a local place that does venomous, or with a local gator park so I can work crocodillians. I'd like to work with crocodillians and venomous professionally.

What got me into herps? Steve Irwin helped, but really, I just love em. They're so beautiful it just about makes me want to cry. ^^ Like Phelsuma. Can you possibly picture anything cuter?

I try to go herping regularly, as its relaxing and rejuvinating for me to get out in the 'wild'. I haven't been recently cause things have been busy at the zoo and with school.

My favorite herps would have to be Squmates (snakes and lizards) and crocodillians (alligators, crocs, caymen, and a few other species).

I'd have to admit, I'm not big on amphibs, mainly cause they're so jumpy and so fragile (the care that goes into them at the zoo is insane). I do think they are cute, and enjoy them from time to time. Just not something I'd want to work with 24/7.

So, who else? ^^
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Blog Entries

One garter snake, one adult flour beetle I tried to feed to the snake, one cricket frog, and one anole. In my experiance, cricket frogs can actually be self-sufficent. Once, after moving some frogs from one tank to another, I accidently left one behind (they hide very, very well). About a year later I found it while cleaning out another cage. It was perfectly fine, if a bit thin.